Mushroom and Potato Crepes with Parsley Cream Sauce

I’m pretty excited about this recipe so it’s gonna be quite a long post.

I’ve always love crepes but I’ve never really tried making them. When I typed “crepes recipes” and searched online, I found myself spending hours browsing and reading all the different sweet and savory recipes and enjoying all those mouth-watering images, while completely amazed with all the varieties and flavors you can try with such simple ingredients.

After watching this video on making basic crepes, I decided to give it a go.

For a start, the batter was fairly simple to whisk together, but because I forgot  to sieve the flour, I have to spend some time smoothing out the lumpy bits….yet it did turn out fine even it wasn’t 100% smooth, so it’s quite a forgiving batter  🙂

It’s rather tricky once it gets its way into the pan though, I think I need a bit more practice to pick up the technique properly. Although the end products looked a bit rough in shape, they were still functional and very tasty.

After pondering for a while what should I make to go with it  (it really can be anything!), I finally settled with some creamy mushroom and potato fillings :

While I have some leftover parsley, I put it in the blender, add garlic, olive oil, salt and turned it into a sauce. That vibrant green color is so refreshing to the eyes, and it smells like spring.

I find it’s a great way to take care of left over fresh herbs which you can’t make good use of quickly. I stored the sauce in a air-tight container and put it in the fridge. It should last for at least another week (I hope). And it’s still a remote wish that I could grow my own herbs such that left over herbs won’t be a problem. This is something I need to explore, if I know how to make my cat stay away from them. (btw, she’s not a vegetarian yet.)

The final product makes me very happy. This is comfort food for me.

well, yes, I don’t really know how some of the parsley sauce got in the wrong place, but I’m not a perfectionist when it comes to food presentation.

Here’s the recipe:

Serves : 2

Ingredients

For the Crepes

1 cup all purpose flour

2 eggs

1/2 cup milk (skip the eggs and use soy milk or water for vegan)

The original recipe called for butter, I substituted it with 1 teaspoon of vegetable oil to make it lighter.

Fillings

300g  button mushrooms

1 small onion

2 small potatoes

1 clove garlic, minced salt and black pepper

Cream Sauce

1 cup cream or milk (use soy/almond milk for vegan)

1 tablespoon corn starch

Putting it together :

1. Whisk together the flour, milk, eggs and vegetable oil. Make the crepes according to the instructions posted above.

2. Dice potatoes and add a little water to cook under medium heat for 5 mins or until slightly tender and brown. Sautee garlic, onions and mushrooms, then add half of the cream sauce and set aside.

3. In another pan, mix the rest of the cream sauce and the blended parsley sauce together over low heat. Just to cook the corn starch enough to thicken the milk/cream a bit, not for too long or you would lose the parsley’s vibrant green color.

4. Assemble the crepes and the fillings, top with the parsley cream sauce.

Leave a comment