Thai Stir Fried Vegetable Rice Noodles

This is extremely simple and quick. Excellent for a lazy day in summer, when cooking (or even eating) anything seems like a hassle….

I used some pak choy, shallot, onion, carrot, just whatever veggies I could find in the fridge. It would even be better to add chili, leek and some bean sprouts to enhance flavor and texture.

Rice Noodles  about 200 g

Any kind of mixed vegetable, shredded

1 clove garlic and 2 small slices of ginger

1 teaspoon black pepper

1 tablespoon soy sauce

1 teaspoon brown sugar

1 tablespoon sesame oil

peanuts, lime for garnishing

1. Cook rice noodles in water until soft.

2. Stir fry vegetables, garlic and ginger with a bit of vegetable oil. If you have any green vegetable like pak choy, add it last.

3. Stir in rice noodles, then add salt, pepper, soy sauce, brown sugar. Lastly, add the sesame oil.

4. Top with roasted peanut and lime.

Don’t forget to squeeze in some lime juice before serving.

And to take care of  the rest of the lime, I made a lime soda to go with the noodles.

This is a more natural version without the lime cordial. I melted some rock sugar (冰糖) in hot water and stored it in the fridge. Then I can use it anytime in all my cold drinks : iced coffee, tea, lemon and lime soda. I found that the taste  of rock sugar adds a bit more subtlety to the sweetness in my drinks, as compared to white sugar.

Honey could be another cool idea to add sweetness. But it wouldn’t be as versatile e.g. it won’t go too well with my favorite iced coffee, which will be the subject of a future post.

Leave a comment